Skip to content

Campbell


Hit-and-Run Accident Attorneys in Campbell, CA

Multi-Million Dollar Advocates Forum Badge
Super Lawyer Badge
AV Preeminent Badge
BBB Accredited Business Badge
American Board Of Trial Advocates Badge
Consumer Attorney Badge
Lawyer Discritct Badge

$40,030,000


Wrongful Death Skydiving Accident

$8,825,000


School Bus vs. Pedestrian Accident

$7,411,492


Train Maintenance Vehicle vs. Auto

$7,291,986


3rd-Degree Burns During a Pedicure

$5,650,000


Paraplegia from Defective Seat

$4,250,000


Pick-up Truck vs. Pedestrian Accident

$4,000,000


Auto vs. Bicycle Accident

$3,800,000


Auto vs. Elderly Pedestrian

$3,000,000


Big Rig vs. Auto Accident

$3,000,000


Injury Onboard a SCTVA Bus

With busy city streets, frequented highways and freeways, and a fast pace of living, car accidents are all too common in California. Unfortunately, many of these collisions are detrimental and, in the worst cases, fatal.

When a person or their property is harmed by negligent, careless, or reckless drivers, victims and their families have a right to file a personal injury lawsuit against the responsible party. Sadly, in some cases, a liable driver will flee the scene of the accident to avoid responsibility, leaving victims unable to pursue maximum compensation. At Caputo & Van Der Walde LLP, we work diligently to defend the rights of accident victims.

If you or someone you love has suffered injuries in a serious accident, get in contact with our Campbell hit-and-run accident lawyers today. We can fight for your rights!

Understanding California Hit and Run Laws

Although drivers are expected to accept liability for their actions in the event of an accident, numerous hit and run accidents occur every year. Hit and run accidents are against the law according to California Penal Code, which states, “The driver of any vehicle involved in an accident resulting in injury to any person, other than himself or herself, or in the death of any person shall immediately stop the vehicle at the scene of the accident.”

Individuals who do not obey this law can face the following consequences:

  • A person who does not immediately stop their vehicle after involvement in an accident that injures another person can be punished by imprisonment in county jail or state prison for up to a year or a fine between $1,000.00 and $10,000.00 or by both imprisonment and fine.
  • A person who does not immediately stop their vehicle after a person has suffered fatal or permanent injuries can be punished by imprisonment in state prison between two to four years or in county jail for up to one year or by a fine up to $10,000.00.

Drivers involved in accidents are also required to stop even if the accident does not result in an injury or wrongful death.

Common Types of Drivers Who Flee the Accident Scene

Over the years, our legal team has noticed that drivers who typically flee accident scenes are one of the following:

Our Campbell Hit & Run Accident Lawyers Can Protect Your Future

If you were involved in an accident and the driver fled the scene, get in touch with our Campbell accident attorneys at Caputo & Van Der Walde LLP right away. We are ready to put our experienced and aggressive representation on your side of the courtroom.

When you choose to work with our team, you can rest easier knowing we are backed by ample experience handling cases similar to yours.