San Jose Hit-and-Run Car Accident Lawyers
Call (800) 900-0863 to Reach Caputo & Van Der Walde LLP
Any type of California traffic accident can take a significant toll on
individuals involved. Whether it is a simple fender-bender, a multi-car
pileup, an accident with minimal injury, or an accident that results in
wrongful death, all automobile accidents adversely affect those who are involved. However,
not all parties involved always seem willing to accept responsibility
for their actions.
Have you been involved in a hit-and-run accident in Northern California
or Silicon Valley?
Contact Caputo & Van Der Walde LLP today!
California Law on Hit-and-Run Accidents
Though we are taught to accept responsibility for our actions, there are
still a number of hit-and-run accidents that occur on California roads
and highways. According to California Penal Code, "the driver of
any vehicle involved in an accident resulting in injury to any person,
other than himself or herself, or in the death of any person shall immediately
stop the vehicle at the scene of the accident."
- Any person who [fails to do so] shall be punished by imprisonment in the
state prison, or in a county jail for not more than one year, or by a
fine of not less than one thousand dollars ($1,000) nor more than ten
thousand dollars ($10,000), or by both that imprisonment and fine.
- If the accident results in death or permanent, serious injury, any person
who violates [this] shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison
for two, three, or four years, or in a county jail for not less than 90
days nor more than one year, or by a fine of not less than one thousand
dollars ($1,000) nor more than ten thousand dollars ($10,000), or by both
that imprisonment and fine.
Even if the accident does not result in injury of any kind, it is still
the responsibility of the reckless driver to stop his or her vehicle and
at the very least, leave their contact information for the owner of the
vehicle that has been damaged.
Drivers who flee the scene typically do so out of panic and guilt for committing
another illegal act, such as:
- Driving Under the Influence
- Driving Without a License
This panic is very pricey, and, whereas the driver would have only be held
liable for monetary damages dependent on the percentage of responsibility
he or she has for causing the accident, the driver now faces criminal
charges as well.
Experienced Personal Injury Attorneys Serving San Jose
If you or a loved one has recently been the victim of hit-and-run, you'll
need a knowledgeable
auto accident attorney on your side to help sort through the details. Don't hesitate to contact
our San Jose hit-and-run accident lawyers at Caputo & Van Der Walde
LLP. Our skilled attorneys will examine the circumstances detailing your
automobile hit-and-run accident, and will hold all negligible parties
accountable for their actions.
Call us today for a
free consultation at (800) 900-0863, and we'll get started on your case.