In California, every operator of a motor vehicle must carry liability insurance
whether in his name or in the name of the owner whose car he or she is
operating. The minimum amount of coverage is $15,000 for bodily injury
to one person per accident and $30,000 per accident (regardless of the
number of people affected). (California Vehicle Code 16028 et seq.)
Motorists purchase “underinsured” coverage in an attempt to
protect against the problems which will be created if a negligent uninsured
motorist causes a traffic accident that injures you. Yet, when the time
came and you were injured in a car accident caused by an uninsured motorist,
you find that the task of getting a just financial settlement, to compensate
you for any out-of-pocket expenses, loss of income, and present and future
medical bills, is a bit more than you can handle.
What do you do when the negligence of an uninsured motorist results in
injury to you and your insurance carrier opposes your claim for compensation?
Do you have the resources to have your claim satisfactorily and timely
resolved on your own? Can you get the compensation you deserve to get
you back on your feet? The tasks ahead of you are ones you should not
have to tackle alone.
The experienced and dedicated Santa Cruz uninsured motorist car accident
Caputo & Van Der Walde LLP know how the law works, how the insurance carriers generally deal with
claimants, and how to obtain the fair compensation which may be available
to you. For a free consultation, call us at